Freshly Hatched

So now that I have your undivided attention, I wanted to announce some breaking news to you guys. I am super excited about the new addition to my life, it’s still early on, but I just couldn’t wait to tell everyone that I am…. launching a new venture in fashion!!! Oh, did you think it was something else? I’m still trying to get my pre-preggo body back… that is definitely not in the cards for me right now.

Which brings me to this venture… Before I had LL, I had no clue, not even a fascination of how hard it is to bounce back, drop all the baby weight and feel 100% normal (body wise… brain wise, I’m still working on it). I think it took me about 14 months to get back to my exact weight before getting pregnant which is understandable, but much too long for me. It was too long to wait to fit into all of my skin tight dresses, it took too long to see my cellulite disappear for my short shorts and silk pants, too long to tone up my legs and ass to even fathom sporting a bikini, never mind my poor 5 inch heels that suffered the brunt of it supporting my overweight ass. You get the [overweight] picture.

This time around, I’m not messing around, especially with spring right around the corner. One of my favorite days of the year is when I spend hours taking out all of my spring and summer clothing out of storage (which I conveniently and cruelly labeled “skinny bitch clothes”), and I just know that I won’t be able to mentally handle not fitting into everything again.

Luckily, I have my best friend, my partner in crime and my greatest motivator in my arsenal this time around. I bestow an enormous token of gratitude to the ex-196-pounder Jessica Diaz, into kicking my ass into full gear and helping me to drop almost all of my baby #2 weight. As a professional barre instructor, she challenged me to take one of her barre classes and I was immediately obsessed. If you’ve never done barre, you should. That’s all I have to say. Combine ballet + pilates + embarrassing leg shaking + can’t move the next 3 days, that = how you get your body back.

Pre-LL bod

2010          Pre-LL bod

6 months after having LL.. holy arms!

2011     6 months after having LL… Holy arms!

2012 16 months after having LL... Arms toned, leg out.

2012
16 months after having LL… Arms toned, leg out.

2012     I'm in crop top heaven!

2012              I’m in crop top heaven!

2012 Jessica and I doing our best poses

2012           Jessica and I doing our best poses

2013   Weeks after having baby Maxi, I couldn't wait to get out and play... good thing I had my mumu on!

2013       Weeks after having baby Maxi, I couldn’t wait to get out and play… thank God for my trusty mumu!

January 2014   Work in progress

January 2014               Work in progress

My cheerleader and partner in crime

My cheerleader and partner in crime

And now you ask about this new venture that I was so excited to tell you about… Jessica and I always talk about the affects of how both of our professions profoundly increase our clients’  self confidence, sex appeal and energy level, not to mention how it opens their eyes to new possibilities in fashion trends and risk taking. Putting the obvious aside, we thought about how amazingly well fitness and fashion go together, and more so than anyone really likes to talk about. Our new baby is this venture together; bringing our clients, readers, mamas, instagram and Facebook followers all of the greatest and newest in what fitness and fashion have to challenge us with every season.

My short shorts have nothing on me this year because I’ve been doing my barre squats, along with my seat work. I’ve resurrected my crop tops and stocked up on some new ones (can you have too many?) because I’ve been doing my core work and planks (cheated a few times, for sure), and I have confidence that my booty will be as close to bootilicious as the had-two-babies excuse can allow by summer because I’ve been painstakingly doing my legs lifts with a ball, with a strap, with weights and with every last ounce of energy I have!

We’ve starting slowly, as every new project does, but hope that you guys love what we have to say and share and hopefully together we can change and inspire even more mamas out there that think that their temple of a body went out with the bag full of dirty diapers.

Birth Announcement:

Ms. Fit for Society

Born: 2014      Weight: touchy subject    Height: the top of the world

Both mamas and baby are healthy and doing just great!

Find us on Instagram (for now): @msfitforsociety 

7 thoughts on “Freshly Hatched

  1. Take it down a notch. You are what’s wrong with society. Too much damn focus on your skin tight dresses and not enough on your child. You birthed a baby – be proud of your body. Geez.

  2. I think Terry’s statement exemplifies the reaction most people would have after reading this piece. As a career-oriented mother, I believe it is vital for women to empower each other. That being said, nothing about this blog entry (or the painfully mediocre writing style) is particularly empowering or inspiring. It completely lacks substance. And it really doesn’t provide any detail around what this “venture” actually is, or how any woman will benefit from its existence. By fat-shaming your former self, you hardly give cause for a woman to trust you in the way one would need to trust their stylist.

    Simply put, most mothers have bigger things to worry about and better things to focus on than fitting into their crop tops.

    • I have 2 kids, and one of my biggest concerns is feeling good in my skin and in my body. When I feel good in my own body and I’m fit, I’m more confident, and I can also keep up with my kids. This blog is inspiring – I hope to one day fit back into my pre-baby jeans! And it’s a great twist on the other blogs about moms, fashion, and fitness.

      Keep up the good work, and looking forward to reading more about the new venture.

    • I appreciate the time you took to reply… we truly value everyone’s opinion on this subject. This blog is meant to be fun and an expression of who we are and what we’re passionate about which is fitness and style. I’m not out to win a Pulitzer Prize with my writing and we’re not out to solve world issues, we’re just doing our best being the best moms, wives and friends.

      I’m so grateful that Jessica has been such an inspiration and taken her health so seriously because it saved her life.

      This past summer she suffered from a stroke. Her doctors stressed to her that had she had high blood pressure, high cholesterol or was at the unhealthy weight she once was, her stroke could have been massive or even fatal. Adapting a healthy lifestyle and bringing awareness to other women through the American Stroke Association saved her life and brought a new passion to her life.

      This blog was born from our joy of sharing all things for moms, fitness and fashion. We cross paths with so many inspiring moms on a daily basis and we wanted to create a blog to share that… we just started with our own story first.

      Thanks again for your comment.
      Best Wishes!!

Leave comments here

